Abhisit Vejjajiva
Honorary Advisor

Former Prime Minister of Thailand / Former Leader of the Democratic Party of Thailand


Former Prime Minister of Thailand

He is a politician who served as Prime Minister of Thailand from 2008 to 2011.

He became prime minister at the age of 44 amid global economic turmoil and heightened domestic political tensions. He was the youngest prime minister of the country in more than 60 years.

As prime minister, he promoted a “People’s Agenda” that focused primarily on policies affecting the living conditions of Thailand’s rural and working-class citizens.
He also implemented two economic stimulus packages: an infrastructure improvement plan and a cash subsidy and benefit program worth over $3 billion; by 2010, the stock market and the value of the baht had recovered to their highest levels since the 1997 Asian financial crisis.



He comes from a Hakka Chinese Vejjajiva family. He was born in 1964 in Newcastle upon Tyne, England. His parents are both professors of medicine. He went to Oxford University (St. John’s College) and graduated with a degree in Philosophy, Politics and Economics (PPE) with first class honors. He returned to Thailand after graduation to teach at the Royal Thai Military Academy, but returned to Oxford University to earn a master’s degree in economics. He returned to Thailand and became a lecturer at Thammasat University’s Faculty of Economics. 1990, he received his Bachelor of Laws degree from Ramkhamhaeng University.

In 1992 he ran for and won the general election for the House of Representatives on the Democratic Party ticket.
He served as spokesman for the Prime Minister’s Office and secretary to then Prime Minister Chuan Leekpai and Deputy Prime Minister Supphachai Phanitchaphak during the DPJ administration.
He served as Minister of the Prime Minister’s Office in the second Chuan administration in 1997.In 1999 he became the deputy leader of the DPJ and in 2005 he became the party leader.

He was elected prime minister on December 15, 2008, after winning 235 votes in an election held by the Chamber of Deputies to elect him prime minister.